Rahul Gandhi submitted nomination papers

April 4, 2024 4:34 am

In the Lok Sabha elections in India, Congress candidate Rahul Gandhi has submitted his nomination papers from the Venad constituency in the southwestern state of Kerala.

On Wednesday (April 3), the incumbent Congress MP submitted his nomination papers at the Wenard District Collectorate office.

At that time Rahul was accompanied by his sister Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi and other leaders of the party.

Submitting the nomination papers, Rahul said that this election is a fight for democracy and the constitution of India. On one side there are those forces who want to destroy India’s democracy and the country’s constitution and on the other side there is a force which is protecting the country’s constitution, protecting the democratic nature of the country. It is clear to all of you who is on which side. It is very clear who is attacking the constitution or who is attacking the democratic structure of this country.

Rahul told the media, “Everyone in Wenara has given me love, affection and respect and consider me their own person.”

Addressing the voters of Waynar constituency, Rahul said, it is an honor for me to be your member of parliament. I just don’t think of you as a voter or act like one. As I think of my sister Priyanka, I think of you as much. So I have mother, father, brother, sister in every house in Wenara. I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Rahul took part in a road show in his parliamentary constituency in an open-top car. It was attended by Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi, party general secretary KC Venugopal, Congress leader Deepa Dasmunsi, Kerala opposition leader VD Satheesan and other top leaders of the party. Party workers and supporters were present at the road show in support of Rahul.

It is to be noted that Rahul Gandhi will contest from Kerala’s Waynar constituency in the upcoming national elections in India. He is going to contest the election from the center for the second time. Rahul’s main rivals in this seat are CPIM candidate Annie Raja and BJP candidate K Surendran. On the same day, CPIM candidate Annie Raja also filed her nomination papers. BJP candidates will submit their nomination papers on Thursday.

In 2019, Rahul Gandhi was elected to the Lok Sabha by defeating the CPI candidate PP Sunir by a large margin. He won by a margin of 4 lakh 31 thousand votes. Rahul got 7 lakh 6 thousand 367 votes. On the other hand, Sunir got 2 lakh 74 thousand 597 votes.

In the last Lok Sabha elections, Rahul contested from Kerala’s Waynad constituency as well as Uttar Pradesh’s Amethi constituency. But he lost to Union Minister Smriti Irani by a margin of more than 55,000 votes.

Polling in 543 Lok Sabha constituencies in India will be held in seven phases from April 19 to June 1. Counting on June 4. This polling process will continue for a long time (44 days) for the second time after independence. In 1951-52, the first Lok Sabha election process in India lasted for about four months. In 1980, the voting process ended in the shortest time, the voting process lasted only 4 days.

Related Articles

Back to top button